Tags

, , ,

After the sad and – to me – sudden death of Michael Clarke Duncan, the actor who so wonderfully portrayed John Coffey in the 1999 hit ‘The Green Mile’, I thought I would pay tribute to him by way of a little blog post.

I don’t think I have ever heard anyone speak negatively about this film – it appears to be universally loved and cherished the world over. I too obviously agree and think it’s brilliant that many people announce that: “It’s the first film that’s ever made me cry”. 

‘The Green Mile’ is praised for many things: the stellar acting, magical script, and eerie poignance, amongst other things. However, my favourite aspect of the movie is one particular scene – just before John’s execution, where he asks to “see a flicker show” and as a result, gets to witness Fred and Ginger perform their ‘Cheek to Cheek’ routine from ‘Top Hat’.

Now, an inside source (IMDb.com) once informed me, that the producers of ‘The Green Mile’ changed the year the film was set to specifically incorporate ‘Top Hat’ into the scene. A few subtle years – from 1932 to 1935 made all the difference, and even managed to change the way we pictured Fred, Ginger and that big, white ballroom in Venice.

Below is a clip of that very moment. It’s only two minutes long, so long enough to get teary eyed – short enough to grab a tissue before someone notices!

Enjoy!