Tags

, , ,

After a successfully packed Friday and Saturday, today is the day I am partaking in a spot of relaxation (or ‘chilling’ as the kids call it.)

After a rather tense episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer (it’s so much better pre-Twilight), I have begun reading my Doris Day biography ‘Reluctant Star’. Doris Day has always been one of my favourite actresses of the 1940s, 50s and 60s, after all, her films are very appealing…everyone loves a good musical, right?

The Calamity Jane, On Moonlight Bay and By The Light of the Silvery Moon era were my favourite of Doris’ and her distinctive voice, sense of fun and undeniable dancing talent made many of her films difficult not to enjoy. She’s had her fair share of wonderful co-stars too. 

Of course, as is the case with so many of Hollywood’s finest, Doris’ life off-screen was about as different as her life on as it was possible to be. Like the Liz Taylor’s, Judy Garland’s and Debbie Reynold’s of her time, Doris had her fair share of heart-ache, misery and depression.

I would highly recommend her biography by David Bret, as I would the majority of her films and television series’. Although she is now living her days as a virtual recluse, last year, the 87 year old’s album ‘My Heart’ made history as she became the oldest artist to score a top-10 in the UK charts with original material.

 As for me, I prefer the classic stuff from a classic time. Here she is with Gordon MacRae singing ‘By The Light of The Silvery Moon’ in the 1953 movie of the same title.

Enjoy!!